Reuben's Home Inspection Blog

head_left_image

"You're wasting your money on a home inspection, and we're not going to fix anything."

That's what a local builder told one of my customers.  The home buyer hired me to inspect her new single family home before she finalized the purchase, and the builder apparently didn't want to end up dealing with any hassles.  The builder's rep told the buyer that having a new construction home inspection was a waste of money, and that even if I came up with any issues, it wouldn't matter; the house had already been inspected by city, so they wouldn't fix anything.

The home buyer said she felt like cancelling the entire purchase after hearing that, and I can't say I blame her.  Who would want to buy a home from someone with an attitude like that?

Maybe the rep felt like he was being personally insulted when the buyer mentioned a home inspection, so he was getting defensive.  If that was the case, I say grow up.  This is just business.  Having an attitude like that will only turn buyers off, and make the builder look silly when the home inspector comes up with a list of installation defects.

It's not supposed to be the home inspector against the builder; we're both working for the home buyer, trying to make sure that any construction defects are addressed right away, before they turn in to a expensive problem.

My advice to builders

When builders use the old excuse of "the city already approved it" they end up looking like weasels.  Everyone knows that municipal building inspectors can't possibly catch every little defect; no one can.   When a municipal inspector approves a permit, it means they didn't find any defects; it doesn't mean they're putting their blessing on something that was done wrong.  When a builder tries to talk a home buyer out of having a home inspection done, it's a huge red flag for the home buyer and the home inspector.

Builders should welcome a home inspection.  If the home buyer is nervous about the quality of construction, this is a perfect opportunity for the buyer's fears to be assuaged.  If the home is truly well built, a good home inspector will say so.  While there may be a handful of overly zealous, hyper-critical home inspectors, most of us aren't.  Most home inspectors appreciate neat work and best practices, and we love pointing this stuff out to clients.  

Neat wiresWhen I inspect particularly neat wiring, I make a point of telling the buyer that the electrician probably took a lot of pride in their work.  

When I inspect a new home with insulation applied to the exterior of the foundation, I explain how this is a more expensive way of insulating the basement, but it's also a superior way of doing it.

When I see a drain pan installed below a washing machine on the second floor, I tell my clients about how this isn't required, but it's a nice safety measure that the builder added.

A home inspection is a PR opportunity for the builder.  If the home inspector comes up with a list of construction defects, the builder has a golden opportunity to fix the issues with a smile.  This creates trust and goodwill with the buyer, which can lead to referrals.

When a builder welcomes a home inspectionthey're telling the home buyer that they're confident in their work.    This concept seems obvious to me, but only the best builders seem to understand this.

And now, back to my original story.  I didn't find a ton of defects at the new construction house I mentioned at the beginning of this blog.  It was all stuff that could probably be corrected in one day - a kitchen cabinet drawer that wouldn't open because it was in a terrible location, a back-pitched plumbing vent, improper flashing above windows... stuff like that.  The buyer asked to builder to repair everything on my report, and wouldn't you know it?  The builder was happy to fix everything.  I'm sure everyone will live happily ever after.

Reuben Saltzman, Structure Tech Home Inspections

        

Comment balloon 68 commentsReuben Saltzman • November 15 2011 06:13AM

Comments

Great job and great blog. Thanks for the blog and keep up the good work. Good luck this year and thanks again

Posted by JOSH EVANS *JoshEvansHomes 516-655-5000 (Village Properties of Mineola, LLC) over 6 years ago

Builders often get a little out of sorts when a buyer wants new construction inspected but you point out a lot of positive that can come of the inspection.

Posted by Gary L. Waters, Broker Owner, Waters Realty of Brevard, LLC, ... a small office, delivering big service! (Waters Realty of Brevard, LLC) over 6 years ago

Josh - thanks.

Gary - they really do!  All this does is insult the buyer and make them resent the builder. 

Posted by Reuben Saltzman, Delivering the Unbiased Truth. (Structure Tech Home Inspections) over 6 years ago

I always find that to be an EXCEPTIONALLY funny statement, "we aren't going to fix it anyway."  You mean you will learn (probably already knew) of the kitchen cabinet drawer that doesn't work and won't fix it?  The negative flow of a plumbing vent?  Windows not flashed right?

My answer to them is always the same - WOULD YOU FIX IT IF IT WAS YOUR HOUSE?

Schmuck...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 6 years ago

I seem to recall a quote from one of the first US astronauts to orbit the Earth saying that he felt fine until he pondered the fact that the capsule was buolt by the lowest bidder. 

The city inspector is there to ensure minimum standards are met. People don't want minimum standards, this is going to be their home. Ridiculous. 

Posted by J. Philip Faranda, Broker-Owner (J. Philip Faranda (J. Philip R.E. LLC) Westchester County NY) over 6 years ago

Your point about the home inspection being a PR opportunity for the builder is spot on! That's exactly what it is, and if builders would focus on the positive outcome that they can engineer regardless of the initial inspection report results they would do themselves a huge favor. Glad for the happy ending to this story, and hopefully the builder learned a valuable lesson along the way...he could have lost the entire sale the way he started out!

Posted by Charlie Dresen, Steamboat Springs, CO e-Pro (Steamboat Sotheby's International Realty) over 6 years ago

Jay - exactly.  I think there is a bit of arrogance involved with statements like that.

J. Philip - great point!

Charlie - totally agree.  I actually chatted with one of the builders reps for about 15 minutes at the beginning of the inspection, while waiting for the buyer to show up (we were both early).  I'm not sure if he was the same guy who made that dumb statement, but he was very pleasant, and I had the opportunity to ask him a bunch of questions about how they built the house.  

It was probably good for him to realize that I wasn't there to tear the house apart; I was just there to help out.

Posted by Reuben Saltzman, Delivering the Unbiased Truth. (Structure Tech Home Inspections) over 6 years ago

Good job Reuben! Even at a minimum a good inspector helps educate a buyer about the home they are buying and provide important tips about future maintenance and repair.

Posted by Christian Bastian, Christian Bastian - Douglas Elliman Real Estate (Douglas Elliman Real Estate) over 6 years ago

As a mortgage broker, I see a lot of home inspections, some good, some not so much. A good home inspector is priceless. They have saved many prospective homeowners a lot of money and heartache. Thank you for the post.

Posted by Joe Petrowsky, Your Mortgage Consultant for Life (Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709) over 6 years ago

Hey Reuben, great post.

One idea you might consider is to find a builder to work with on their out of town buyers. They need someone there during the process and not just at the end.

You could inspect each phase of the construction process for them. The footer, the foundation, the framing, the electrical & the plumbing as they are installed as it is easier to fix problems then. You could design a program that would provide inspections & photos of the major phases of their home under construction. This would catch little items like the cabinet drawer that would not open before an expensive repair or change was necessary. A little more work for you, but an opportunity to create a niche for yourself.? just a thought. keep raining.

 

Posted by Clay R. Seay (Florida Homes Realty & Mortgage) over 6 years ago

Great blog and information.  I always recommend a home inspection for new construction.  You just never know.  Best to spend a few dollars up front to hold the builder accountable to their product than wait till resale and pay more for any repairs, should they arise of course!  SUGGEST!

Posted by Jan Green, HomeSmart Elite Group, REALTOR®, EcoBroker, GREEN (Value Added Service, 602-620-2699) over 6 years ago

Reuben...

Any builder that takes price in his or her work should welcome an inspection ... for all of the reasons you mentioned!!!

Posted by Richard Weisser, Richard Weisser Retired Real Estate Professional (Richard Weisser Realty) over 6 years ago

Reuben, sounds the the rep was the one with the problem and not the builder. Glad everything went smoothly for the buyers.

Posted by Michael Setunsky, Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA over 6 years ago

Buyers in my experience only ask for a home inspection on a new home about 25% of the time.  Maybe even less.  While I am sure there is a value to catching the small stuff, I feel the major value is the inspector's ability to teach the homeowner how to maintain their home.  Unfortunately all too often the inspectors I have encountered have gone out of their way to "justify" the cost of the inspection by "finding" things that wouldn't have been worth noting on a resale home inspection. 

Posted by Margo Otey (REMAX EXECUTIVE REALTY) over 6 years ago

I know that code inspection usually means the lowest level of compliance that is safe for human habitation. So jumping on a statement like "the city already approved it" is really, really stupid. I always feel that this is a golden opportunity for the builder or seller to be the hero and do what's right and it ends up a win-win for all.   

Posted by Scott Seaton Jr. Bourbonnais Kankakee IL Home Inspector, The Home Inspector With a Heart! (SLS Home Inspections-Bradley Bourbonnais Kankakee Manteno) over 6 years ago

Good stuff Rueben.  Always have a home inspection.  Always.  

Posted by Amanda Christiansen, Christiansen Group Realty (Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843) over 6 years ago

I bought new construction and wish I had known you then to come and inspect it for me! LOL

Posted by Shar Sitter, Home Staging and Redesign Minneapolis/ St. Paul, M (Rooms With Style) over 6 years ago

As soon as the builder's rep said it's a waste of money, I would called in the Calvary. If you have nothing to hide then it should be no big deal. Great post Rueben!

Posted by Michael S. Bolton, MN Appraiser (Michael S. Bolton,Inc.) over 6 years ago

Excellent! Just because it's new doesn't mean that it's perfect or even well done. Always have a home inspection!

Posted by Peggy Chirico, REALTOR® 860-748-8900, Hartford & Tolland County Real Estate (Prudential CT Realty) over 6 years ago

Boy, I've heard that one before, Rueben.  I've worked with a few builders that you'd be hard pressed to find a defect, but more and more I'm seeing builders who just slam things together to get paid, and a home inspection is a great idea. 

Posted by Mike Cooper, Your Winchester, VA Real Estate Sales Pro (Cornerstone Business Group Inc) over 6 years ago

I think you're making a mistake when you say: "We're both working for the home buyer..."

That's not quite accurate.  You, of course, are working for the home buyer...he's paid you for your services, and he's expecting you to tell him what's wrong (and right) with the building.

But the builder.... the builder is selling the buyer a product.  The builder doesn't work for the buyer. The builder is trying to build that product at the very least expense, and thereby the most profitlable method he can. And to that end, the builder may try to cut a few corners.  That's what you're there for.  To determine which corners were cut, and tell your client what they should be concerned about.

You keep the builder on the straight-and-narrow, and some builders... just don't like that.

Posted by Alan May, Helping you find your way home. (Coldwell Banker Residential) over 6 years ago

Great post Reuben.  

This builder's attitude seems reminiscent of 2004.  Somebody needs to tell him that "it ain't that easy" anymore.

Posted by Howard and Susan Meyers (The Hudson Company Winnetka and North Shore) over 6 years ago

I've had new home builders tell me the same thing.  Its crazy for them to say that...it makes them look like they are hiding something.  Having a home inspection with new construction I say is a must.

Posted by Cheryl Thomson, REALTOR, U.S Army-Veteran, Real Estate in Northern Virginia (Jobin Realty (703.216.5635) cheryltee47@gmail.com) over 6 years ago

I do a great deal of new construction sales. I always let my buyers know that an inspection is an option for them. Some realtors insist, but some buyers are not interested in spending the $450 for the info. They are confortable with the high standards that the builder has demonstrated in the community, and that the warranty is there. It is a personal decision, but the builders i work with all are comfortable with their work and never have had any issue with the inspections. I love it when they are finished and comment that the home looks great! I would say I see about 20% of the home buyers actually go through with an inspection lately. It certainly is a choice.

Posted by Janis Borgueta, LIC RE Salesperson (Key Properties of the Hudson Valley ) over 6 years ago

This is an example where how the agent for the builder presented the information in a way that was totally incorrect.  They could have easily just had a simple conversation that the builder is more than likely not going to do any repair requests that an inspector would recommend, rather than the in your face way they presented the information.

Posted by Morgan Evans, LICENSED REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON (Douglas Elliman Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Reuban - that's just amazing that a builder would take that stance. You would think he would be proud of his work and welcome the inspection. Red flags in the sunset for anyone who sees this kind of attitude coming from a builder...Scary

Posted by Robert and Lisa Hammerstein -201-315-8618, Bergen County NJ Real Estate (Keller Williams Valley Realty) over 6 years ago

The builders here in Northern VA use that same line.  IMO, it's bunch of crap.  I've seen more than a few new construction homes with plenty of flaws.

Posted by Justin Dibbs, REALTOR® - Ashburn Virginia Homes for Sale (Pearson Smith Realty) over 6 years ago

Unless you are an experienced handyman/contractor, I think a home/termite inspection is integral to any home purchase.

Great post, thanks for sharing it.

Posted by Anthony Daniels, SF Bay Area REO Specialist (Coldwell Banker) over 6 years ago

I have seen buyers nit-pick and I have seen builders say...that is the way it is...There is no end to disputing anything...Builders that I know (aand public companies) use the same tradesmen over and over...so standards are set. No money is paid for work done unless city inspectors and the General Contractor approve the work. Even after the sale, pick-up work is usually required, but nothing major. Have the inspection, but be weary of another never-ending opinion taking place...good discussion post thank you R

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) over 6 years ago

Any builder worth his salt would welcome a home inspection, it's an opportunity to showcase his work.

Posted by Cynthia Larsen, Independent Broker Serving Sonoma County, CA (Safe Haven Realty) over 6 years ago

The biggest investment in your life, You have a right to inspect it

Posted by Robert Rauf (HomeBridge Financial Services (NJ)) over 6 years ago

The property is priced to sell, below market and a deal and the buyer needs asap closing, possession. It has a first floor bed and bath for an elderly mom who loves the big back yard. The home inspector is just part of the equation. If the rest of the real estate story checks out, go ahead with the inspection but a heads up, whatever is deemed needing updates, fixing, I'm not footing the bill. Does not mean I am snarky, have a bad attitude. Just telling you, giving you an oh by the way warning up front so the expectation is not that 27 things on the clip board list are going in my job jar as the builder. No one is a jerk, has an attitude. Just the way the builder, owner, whoever could see their role. I like everything spelled out and the older I get, the more blunt, out spoken the better. Everyone knows who is on which page, base. This is what you get for how much is easier than surprises. If there are inherit problems with the place, you want the buyer, world to know going in. But automatic you have to fix it thinking is not good to make the buyer believe is going to happen.

Posted by Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573, Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker (MOOERS REALTY) over 6 years ago

Hi Reuben. You've got a great attitude about the home inspections. Highlighting positives and noting deficiencies is more than fair while still being thorough. I suspect your reports are given a lot of respect and generally positive reactions by the builders & sellers in getting things fixed.
Bruce

 

Posted by Bruce Kunz, REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale (C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100) over 6 years ago

I always suggest an inspection on new construction.  THe inspector's they get out there are their own most times! I can't believe the rudeness of the builder!

Posted by Kristin Moran, San Antonio,TX - Real Estate - 210-313-7397 (Owner - RE/MAX Access - KristinMoran@Remax.net) over 6 years ago

Fantastic post!  All my new home buyers get property inspections, there can be so many unseen things that go wrong during the building process.  It also helps the builder, it means fewer call backs because we have found most everything during the inspection when the home is vacant and easier to repair.  Why would a builder NOT want this?  Unless he had no intention of following up on the required warranty period.

Posted by Jenifer Lower, Your Dream. Our Passion. (Bozeman Montana Real Estate .net) over 6 years ago

Sounds like the builder just used an intimidation tactic to hopefully not have to fix anything, once the inspection showed those issues, he did as he should and repaired them. Nice post.

Posted by David Niles (Niles Real Estate Investments www.NilesREI.com) over 6 years ago

Sounds like the builder's rep didn't want any hassles by having it done, but the builder was happy to do it. Their rep will give them a bad name!

Posted by Pam Graham, Jacksonville, Clay & St Johns Counties (All Real Estate Options) over 6 years ago

Hi Reuben,   Well said.  Not having an arms' length inspection on new construction is just rolling the dice !

Posted by Bill Gillhespy, Fort Myers Beach Realtor, Fort Myers Beach Agent - Homes & Condos (16 Sunview Blvd) over 6 years ago

Reuben -- Good points all through!  Glad things worked out well for your client.  I remember checking on one house - where the person nailing the exterior siding to the studs, had missed the stud on the bottom two nails.  Buyer thought it wasn't that big a deal.  I'm just glad they haven't had really high winds.

Posted by Steven Cook over 6 years ago

Great post Rueben! I cant tell you how often I hear new home buyers and their agents say "It is a new house. I dont need a home inspection." WRONG! No house is perfect. Not even a brand new one. Although normally minor, I have never done an inspection on a brand new house and not found a few things that needed to be corrected.

Posted by David Selman, Certified Master Home Inspector (Selman Home Inspections, Inc.) over 6 years ago

That is ridiculous.  I wouldn't want to work with a builder (or anyone) with that kind of attitude.  Whether or not they are willing to fix it, it's the buyers right to know what's going on.  Builders aren't perfect and new homes can and do have flaws.  What a lousy attitude!

Posted by Emilie Greenwell (ALLEN REALTORS) over 6 years ago

Glad to see the buyer get the inspection! You NEVER know what they could do wrong, what may need help, or what was just general ignorance. Glad they fixed it all!

Posted by Ben Blonder, Buyers, Sellers, Investors! (Broker/Owner, Keller Williams) over 6 years ago

Heard that statement a few times. Like you say, the builder can either take the inspection as a positive opportunity or turn it into a negative about his company. Their choice. 

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) over 6 years ago

The best PR I know of for a builder is when buyers and their agents can rave about how responsive the builder is and dedicated to making sure that any issues are promptly addressed.  And the opposite applies as well...

Posted by Nancy Conner, Olympia/Thurston County WA (Managing Broker - City Realty Inc) over 6 years ago

Good post!  With the current market being what it is, we have many "new" homes that have been on the market for several years, some even as long as 5 years!  (And before you think it, yes, there is a pricing problem with that home!)  We all know what happens to unoccupied homes...whether "new" or not they tend to age faster, and with age comes possible problems, so home inspections should certainly be on the list of recommendations.

Posted by Stephen Atkins, II - SFR (Waterfront Professionals Real Estate) over 6 years ago

In California, all defects in new construction are warranted for 1 year with up to 10 years from the date of sale to report such defects so an inspection is somewhat redundant.  However, I did have my clients recently complete a home inspection on new construction and they did, in fact, find a couple of minor items.  For a few hundred dollars, getting the inspection is worth the peace of mind.

Posted by Bryan Robertson, Broker, Author, Speaker (Intero Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Knowledge Gained = Potential Liability ! Buyer gets an Inspection,becomes uncomfortable and cancels the deal. Seller and Seller's agent now have a problem-knowledge of an unfavorable inspection and probably exactly why Buyers walked ! This new info must appear on a REVISED Seller's Disclosure(if applicable in your state).

Posted by Michael J. Perry, Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist (KW Elite ) over 6 years ago

Wow..I'd sure get that rep to put that in writing...can't imagine advising against a home inspection. Talk about a liability.

Posted by Karen Fiddler, Broker/Owner, Orange County & Lake Arrowhead, CA (949)510-2395 (Karen Parsons-Fiddler, Broker 949-510-2395) over 6 years ago

Good to read what I've been telling buyers for years on new construction purchases:  Get it inspected.  The "city" only checks the home for their minimal standards.  I had a new construction home inspected and the rain gutters were put in place.  So the "city" signed off.  But, the home inspector noticed they were installed without any slant at all.  They were parallel to the roof!  Can we say standing water not draining out boys and girls?  LOL  I'm in a new sale now and the builder WELCOMES the home inspection. 

Posted by Carla Muss-Jacobs, RETIRED (RETIRED / State License is Inactive) over 6 years ago

Great post!

Posted by Greg Madsen and Richard McGarry (McGarry and Madsen Home Inspection) over 6 years ago

Reuben,

Great post and well stated. I had a recommendation from a builder/agent after I inspected the home she had listed/built. Very nice home, perfect no, but still overall very nice home. The builder/agent took everything I pointed out and corrected it and then refereed me for one of her clients on another home.

Too bad more builders do not take it as an opportunity.

 

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) over 6 years ago

Wow. I can't imagine buying a home without an inspection and have to think that if a seller and/or builder doesn't want an inspection, there is a reason and that makes the need for an inspection even more.

Gretchen

Posted by Mel Ahrens, MBA, Kelly Right Real Estate, Customized Choices for your Real Estate Needs (Kelly Right Real Estate) over 6 years ago

If I were to buy a new home, I would definitely hire a good home inspector to accompany me on the various inspections

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 6 years ago

Reuben, I always believe in getting inspection regardless of age of the property. 

Posted by Frank Rubi, FrankRubiRealEstate.com (Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC) over 6 years ago

Rueben, 

PRICELESS, that response from a builder would set off huge alarm bells ringing in my brain if I heard NOT to bother getting it inspected. 

We've had plenty of new homes inspected.  AND... had the same responses of what was done very well, as well as a few minor problems.

All the best, Michelle

Posted by Michelle Francis, Realtor, Buckhead Atlanta Homes for Sale & Lease (Tim Francis Realty LLC) over 6 years ago

Wow - Those are some harsh words out in MN.

I typically hear the protocol statement from the builder ...

We do not make any changes/alterations after the final inspection.

Which of course is how the process is supposed to work.  There are many good home inspectors, yet just a differing opinion from a home inspector may not be sufficient to perform a change/alteration to the home.

Usually followed by something like ...

We look forward to your report and we will take your comments under advisement.

Most times all goes well.  Since MA has a State Sanitary Code, there is always something up for discussion where the Building Code and Sanitary Code differ.

Glad to hear the happily ever after ending.

Posted by Jim Mushinsky (Centsable Inspection) over 6 years ago

Reuben:

I don't do sales of new homes, but if a buyer asked me about a home inspection, I would advise them to get one.  Can't be too careful and the inspection is not that expensive and is worth peace of mind.

Posted by Evelyn Kennedy, Alameda, Real Estate, Alameda, CA (Alain Pinel Realtors) over 6 years ago

Reuben - I think it makes sense to get a home inspection done even on new build.  Why wouldn't you suggest it?

Posted by Christine Donovan, Broker/Attorney 714-319-9751 DRE01267479 - Costa M (Donovan Blatt Realty) over 6 years ago

I have also seen some pretty egregious oversights and omissions in brand new houses…plumbing incorrectly connected, insulation not installed, cracked and broker roof tiles, for instance. A reputable builder would rather take care of these problems sooner than later.

Posted by John Juarez, ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN (The Medford Real Estate Team) over 6 years ago

Reuben

Good read!! A home buyer has every right with a new home to have it inspected. Any builder not willing to stand up to the scrutiny of a home inspector is probably hiding something. If they are, as they say, proud of their community, then a qualified home inspector will help bolster that marketing. Unless it's all fluff. If a buyer is being  discouraged it certainly IS a red flag.

Jeff

Posted by Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad (Solutions Real Estate ) over 6 years ago

I guess no one likes to have their work scrutinized by another but the point is to make the person buying the house happy. People often buy a new home because they don't want any problems.

Posted by Rob Ernst, Reno, NV-775-410-4286 Inspector & Energy Auditor (Certified Structure Inspector) over 6 years ago

Hi Reuben, Good job here. I can't imagine a professional person making a comment like that. I'm glad that it worked out.

Posted by Sandy Acevedo, RE/MAX Masters, Inland Empire Homes for Sale (951-290-8588) over 6 years ago

I think what was said created bad press not the reality of the home or the quality of the Builder. Good thing to remember. 

Posted by Cheryl Ritchie, Southern Maryland 301-980-7566 (RE/MAX Leading Edge www.GoldenResults.com) over 6 years ago

Yes, builders like to try to bully their way past outside inspectors.  But to answer the first part of your blog, a buyer can tell the builder that if he doesn't fix issues, he doesn't have to buy the home.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 6 years ago

Ii recommend a home inspection on any property. If they do not want one thay need to sign a release

Posted by Jack O'Neal (Conway Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Thank you so much for the comments, everyone.  I am still going to try to respond to everyone, but I've had a ridiculously busy week and haven't had time yet.  Every time I sit down to respond to a few comments, I get sidetracked reading someone else's blog or reading the featured posts here. 

Posted by Reuben Saltzman, Delivering the Unbiased Truth. (Structure Tech Home Inspections) over 6 years ago

Hi

I used to sell a number of new homes. I had 120 under my control at one time plus I sold maybe 50 more during the 2000's. In my experience about 1 in 20, the roof was not installed properly, in 1 in 10, there was an electrical problem, in 1 in 20 there was a plumbing problem, in 1 in 5 there was a grading problem.

With numbers like this, I always recommended a home inspection with my buyers and would have them sign a document stating this. In the projects I was selling, there was a one year builder warranty to repair most items.

Posted by Curtis Van Carter, Your Napa Valley Broker Extraordinaire (Better Homes & Gardens Wine Country Group) over 6 years ago

In a perfect world the inspector and builder would get along great having a mutual interest. Unfortunately I've yet to meet a builder that appreciated my evaluation of the home. No matter what I point out they are put off by having to spend any more time on the home. After all they have other projects that need to be completed. The last thing they want to do is spend any more time on something that's is supposed to be done and sold.

Posted by Vince Santos, Southeast Michigan Home Inspector (StepByStep Home Services LC) over 6 years ago

Participate